top of page
  • Writer's pictureJon Fettig

Can you have more than one holiday

Updated: Nov 21, 2022

When thinking about my favorite holidays, this wasn't always an easy thing for me given the complexity of my thoughts. I always use to have a thing about most of them, because I'd enjoy the festivities that would normally come with those holidays and how they made me feel. But as things progressed to how they are for me, I now updated those thoughts into preferences. These preferences made me realize what holidays I really do like and why. Those holidays would be a tossup between any holiday with fireworks, which can include Canada Day, may be Thanksgiving, but includes Christmas.


My enjoyment of these holidays may not be what you think, as I see it all a little differently. For example, the reason I enjoy holidays like Canada Day, or the 4th here has a lot to do with ambiance vs activities. I know there may be other holidays that evolve fireworks of some sort. But outside of 4th of July here, I like the 1st of July (Canada Day) due those ambiances, festivities, and the fact that I have developed a liking for Canada, as it has made me feel awesome during some getaways up there. One of those getaways was a trip to Winnipeg Manitoba, where I was there during this holiday.


One of the exciting things I did was going to the forks, which is a mall with a kind of attractions like a skating trail in the winter. While hanging out here, I got myself a Happy Birthday Canada shirt, as I felt as I needed to grab something with regards to the holiday. But with the fourth of July here, I not only like being part of the festivities, but also be the one to also shoot fireworks off.


One summer while at my connections place out in the middle of no-where where around Northwood North Dakota where crops are harvested. We shot some fireworks in the middle of a field. Needless to say, it was very entertaining with what went down on that mid-august night. One of the fireworks we shot off fell on it's side and that neat colorful confetti that you'd normally see in that dark black sky was going off in the field around us, some to the left, and some to the right. A shot even hit the door of the pickup we brought out there, as one of our connections dunked behind it.


But the adventure doesn't stop there, as I enjoy experiencing different holiday's in other places as well, even south of the border with the day of the dead. That being said, I enjoy exploring unusual places & things. This is one of the biggest reasons why I am also doing a communication program, because of the flexibility. I like to make things as interesting as possible. Because it is good for my mind, especially since I have major depressive disorder, due to my history.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What I like about traveling

There used to be a time when I hardly had much to look forward to, where things for me were very um-eventful. I did not really get to experience much outside the geographic area I was more familiar wi

Why I don't like to stay in one place.

There are some that like to be content and have things a little to simple. How I have come to see this is being in same place not getting out of your comfort as much as possible. Then there are those

My unique experience and how I have enjoyed school

When I first started taking courses at Minot State through Dakota College at Bottineau, the first course I took was a English course. It was the first time I've taken courses at my own will and I was

bottom of page